• Publication date: 27/08/2020
  • eBook ISBN: 9781788422703
  • Audiobook ISBN: 9781788423977
Classic Canning 9

The Aberdyll Onion

And Other Mysteries

Victor Canning

Amazon iTunes Kobo
Amazon Itunes Kobo

The collected short stories of the great Victor Canning, originally written and published in the 1950s and 1960s – full of humour, charm, and in true fashion of classic crime writing.

Canning’s heart-warming vignettes and clever mysteries take us from a Welsh valley to a far-off island and across the French countryside – introducing unforgettable characters and stories along the way.  

Praise for Victor Canning:

‘His gift of story-telling is obviously innate. Rarely does one come on so satisfying an amalgam of plot, characterisation and good writing.’ Punch

‘Quite delightful … with an atmosphere of quiet contentment and humour that cannot fail to charm.’ Daily Telegraph

‘A swift-moving novel, joyous, happy and incurably optimistic.’ Evening Standard

‘There is such a gentle humour in the book.’ Daily Sketch

‘What counts for most in the story … is his mounting pleasure in vagabondage and the English scene.’ The Times

‘A paean to the beauties of the English countryside and the lovable oddities of the English character.’ New York Times

Other books in the series