• Publication date: 02/05/2019
  • Paperback ISBN: 9781788421232
  • eBook ISBN: 9781788421256
The Batch Magna Chronicles 1

The Cuckoos of Batch Magna

Peter Maughan

Amazon iTunes Kobo
Amazon Waterstones Hive

Welcome to Batch Magna, a place where anything might happen. And often does…

When Sir Humphrey Strange, 8th Baronet and squire of Batch Magna, departs this world for the Upper House, what’s left of his estate passes, through the ancient law of entailment, to distant relative Humph, an amiable, overweight short-order cook from the Bronx.

Sir Humphrey Franklin T. Strange, 9th Baronet and squire of Batch Magna, as Humph now most remarkably finds himself to be, is persuaded by his Uncle Frank, a small-time Wall Street broker, to make a killing by turning the sleepy backwater into a theme-park image of rural England, a playground for the world’s rich.

But while the village pub and shop put out the Stars and Stripes in welcome, the tenants of the estate’s dilapidated houseboats tear up their notices to quit, and led by randy pulp-crime writer Phineas Cook and the one-eyed Lt-Commander James Cunningham, they run up the Union Jack and prepare to engage.

Other books in the series