• Publication date: 01/07/2021
  • Paperback ISBN: 9781788423564
  • eBook ISBN: 9781788423571
A Follet Valley Mystery 1

Death and Croissants

Ian Moore

eBook
Amazon iTunes Kobo
Paperback
Amazon Waterstones Hive

‘Ian Moore is a brilliantly funny writer and that’s all there is to it.’ Annabel Giles

 

THE FIRST NOVEL IN THE ENTHRALLING FOLLET VALLEY SERIES, BY TV/RADIO REGULAR IAN MOORE

Richard is a middle-aged Englishman who runs a B&B in the fictional Val de Follet in the Loire Valley. Nothing ever happens to Richard, and really that’s the way he likes it.

One day, however, one of his older guests disappears, leaving behind a bloody handprint on the wallpaper. Another guest, the exotic Valérie, persuades a reluctant Richard to join her in investigating the disappearance.

Richard remains a dazed passenger in the case until things become really serious and someone murders Ava Gardner, one of his beloved hens … and you don’t mess with a fellow’s hens!

Unputdownable mystery set in rural France, by TV/radio regular and bestselling author Ian Moore – perfect for fans of Richard Osman’s The Thursday Murder Club, Julia Chapman, or M.C. Beaton.

 

Praise for Death and Croissants:

‘This is like two great books in one, a tricksy whodunnit, and a really, really funny story.’ Jason Manford

‘Ian is one of my favourite writers; this is hilarious and a great mystery too.’ Jane Godley

‘Good food and a laugh-out-loud mystery. What more could anyone want in these dark times?” Mark Billingham

Death and Croissants is such a relentless rollercoaster ride of laughs and twists, it should come with a height restriction and health warning.’ Matt Forde

‘I’d never connected the words “death” and “croissants” before, but now they’re inextricably linked. It’s a rollicking qui-dunnit with as many twists as the Loire itself’. Stephen Clarke, author of 1000 Years of Annoying the French

‘Moore’s French whodunnit is an engaging caper through the Loire Valley with an expat reluctant hero mixed up with a Maigret-like rural cast, a glamorous heroine and a couple of Mafia killers. It is finely paced, truly funny and written with a wry detachment that conjures up a gentler age of murder mystery.’ Charles Bremner

 

Everyone is wanting mort! – what people are saying about Ian Moore:

Charming, witty, a brilliant read.’ Sarah Millican

‘There are a great many comedians who think that they can also write books, myself included, but very few who can rival Ian Moore’s immediate warmth and skill with language.’ Jon Richardson

‘Ian Moore is a brilliantly funny writer and that’s all there is to it.’ Annabel Giles

‘Everything its author is: immaculately turned out, sharp and consistently hilarious.’ Mark Billingham

‘What a strange and wonderful sight Ian Moore must present in the Loire Valley – an English Mod kicking around rural France with a young family, a few goats and big dreams of the good life. His brilliant book is warm, funny and big-hearted – easily the best Englishman-abroad memoir since Gerald Durrell was in short trousers and knocking around pre-war Corfu.’ Tony Parsons

‘So well written and funny you feel you’re there flailing with him in the chicken coop. Warm, tender and incredibly funny. Treads that perfect balance between thigh-slappingly hilarious and heartbreakingly human: a unique and wonderful book.’ Isy Suttie

‘Ian Moore is a brilliant comedian whose wit is as sharp as his dress sense and he has managed to take that on stage story telling brilliance and put it in his writing. A great read – even if you’re French!’ John Bishop, Comedian and Broadcaster